Let’s Have Some Canapes, Part One

Canapes are supposed to be “gracefully” eaten with the fingers. Now, these are all “appetizers,” but back then, everything was fancy, even if it came from a can!

There are quite a few savory bites listed here, of which I have made two so far. One was good, the other . . . well, what can I say?

First, the toast beds must be prepared. I used wheat bread, as that was all I had on hand at the time. I sliced off the crusts and trimmed the centers into little squares and rectangles. You could also use small cookie-cutters, if you have those (all of mine were too large for this purpose). Next, I put them in a small pan with non-stick spray, and browned one side. You could also use a toaster oven, if you wish.

1. Savory Mushroom Canapes

Chop mushrooms fine. Pan-fry in butter with a hint of onion. Season with garlic salt. Blend in 1 tbsp. flour and 1 tbsp. cream. Pile on toast beds. Heat 1 min. if desired. Garnish with minced parsley.

5. Savory Mushroom Canapes

[See my pretty square plate? I bought it just for this project! I also bought a new little square bowl, and a cute clear glass mug, for future endeavors. Serious business.]

I only had canned mushrooms, so I drained those well, and then minced them. I added a little butter to a small frying pan and sauteéd them, then mixed a small amount of milk with the flour in a small prep bowl (I didn’t have any cream; the milk worked just fine) before I poured it into the pan and quickly tossed it about. The mushroom mixture is a little bit difficult to pile neatly on the toast, but I got most of it on there. As you can see, I have mad bread-cutting skillz! These were really good, even the cold ones my Dad ended up with because he got home late from work on the night in question. Of course, if you don’t like mushrooms, these are not for you, but if you do, they only take a few minutes to make.

 

2. Smoked Oysters

Place a smoked oyster on each tiny round prepared toast bed. Heat, if desired.

I wasn’t even going to make this one, but then I found they sell tins of smoked oysters at the shop next door to the office for one measly dollar. So I bought them. They were even a name-brand, Chicken of the Sea, so I figured, how bad could they be?

Bad, reader. Very, very bad.

6. Smoked Oysters

Behold, the nastiness that hath sullied this plate! They look like . . . droppings, don’t they? I did try them, though. And so did my bro. Our verdict was the same. Disgusting. They tasted like dirt. How does anyone eat these? Although, I guess if you were drinking tomato with Worcestershire sauce . . . you probably don’t have much left with which to taste.

Don’t get me wrong; I love oysters raw, with cocktail sauce. I love fried oysters. But smoked oysters? No, thank you!!

And these – they stay with you. I could NOT get the awful taste out of my mouth for quite a bit.

One thought on “Let’s Have Some Canapes, Part One

  1. The first ones sound tasty enough. I wonder how they’d do with different types of mushrooms… But oysters in a can are the most god awful things ever. Zach eats those from time to time and I always refuse to kiss him until he’s disposed of the filthy can (OUTSIDE garbage can, not inside) and brushed his teeth.

Leave a Reply

