Broiled Grapefruit

We’re off to a good start! So says Betty Crocker. Let’s move on to Cocktails, or “popular curtain-raisers to the dinner.”

I’ve omitted some of the more simple “recipes,” such as a Fresh Strawberry Plate, which consists of putting strawberries on a plate with confectioners’ sugar. Our next endeavor is Broiled Grapefruit.

2. Broiled Grapefruit

Why, yes, it DOES look like boobs!

Remove seeds from grapefruit halves. Cut around sections, remove center. Sprinkle with a bit of sugar (brown or maple). Broil slowly until heated (15 to 20 min). Add a little maraschino cherry juice or sherry flavoring. Serve hot.

Wonder of wonders, I found some grapefruit in the refrigerator. I am not a huge fan of grapefruit, as I find that it is too bitter, even the ruby-red variety. In addition, I have a medical issue that limits the amount of citric acid I should have, but I made an exception for this. I patted the brown sugar liberally over the grapefruit halves, and put the broiler on low for about seven minutes. The sugar burned a little bit, as you can see on the left-side of the photo. I did not have any sherry on hand, so I poured over the cherry juice and as a garnish, added a cherry to each half.

I thought this was pretty tasty. The brown sugar caramelizes and adds sweetness to the tart fruit. The side that was a bit browner had a sugar crust akin to a creme brulee. My mom thought it was pretty good, but only had a bite. My brother thought that it was “nasty,” but yet kept eating it, so go figure!

Interestingly enough, this is supposed to be an appetizer, and I was going to make it as a dessert instead. The night in question, our dinner was delayed so it WAS an appetizer. I still think that’s an odd choice, as citrus is usually reserved for the end of a meal, as a palate-cleanser.

I might try this again with a ruby-red, to see if there’s a taste difference.

One thought on “Broiled Grapefruit

  1. It is very odd to have this as an appetizer, yet that seemed to be the fashionable thing to do for quite a while. Perhaps because citrus was still kind of exotic back then? To show off? I’m not sure I would like this because, like you, grapefruit is way too bitter for me – but I would try it.

Leave a Reply

